I love summer….

Man oh Man do I love summer. Summertime in Chicago is absolutely the best. From Navy Pier to hanging out at the lakefront, there is so much to do. Because my life is always busy and on-the-go, my wardrobe is really quite casual. I have lots of garments that are grab and go type. So when I saw the pattern Renfrew top from Sewaholic patterns, I knew I had to have it. The great thing about this top is that it can be finished in 2 hours…tops. Also, I can make a billion of these tops, long sleeve and short sleeve and be very happy with just that. I do wear a lot of t-shirts and now that I have a great pattern to use, trust me when I say I will be making a gazillion more!

 

20140714_112615

 

The shorts are a little different story. They are Maritime shorts from Grainline studio. I searched high and low for a plaid, cotton material for these shorts. By chance I came across some in the clearance section at Joann fabrics. I don’t particularly like the color, but it will do for now. I cut the smallest size and it is still a little too big in the waist. The other thing with this pattern, is that I noticed that it kinda pools in the crotch area. Next time I will take about a half an inch to an inch off the crotch. The only mod. that I did make was to shorten them. And boy oh boy did I shorten them. I think I took like 2 inches off the bottom. I hate long shorts.  Long shorts + short girl =  disaster. They just make me even shorter than what I am.

20140714_11253420140714_112544

20140714_11171220140714_111647[1]

 

On a side note, my saltspring dress came in the mail the other day. I have sewn up one and working on a second one. I will post the deets on that later.

One thought on “I love summer….

Leave a Reply

